Thomas
Gray
Archive

Thomas Gray to Thomas Wharton, 17 July 1769

Back to Letters page

[Use arrow keys to navigate]
Letter ID: letters.0561 (Source: TEI/XML)

Correspondents

Writer: Gray, Thomas, 1716-1771 [i]
Writer's age: 52
Addressee: Wharton, Thomas, 1717-1794 [i]
Addressee's age: 52[?]
Mentioned: Brown, James, 1709-1784 [i]
Mason, William, 1724-1797 [i]

Dates

Date of composition: 17 July 1769 [i]
Date (on letter): 17 July 1769
Calendar: Gregorian

Places

Place of composition: Cambridge, United Kingdom [i]
Address (on letter): Pemb: Coll:

Physical description

Form/Extent: A.L.S.; 1 page, 222 mm x 182 mm
Address panel: To / Thomas Wharton Esq of / Old-Park near Darlington / Durham / to be left at / Sunderland-Bridge (postmark: [illeg.])

Content

Language: English
Incipit: Mason being in residence in at York, I lay aside my first design of going...

Holding Institution

Location:
(confirmed)
Egerton MS 2400, ff. 189-190, Manuscripts collection, British Library [i], London, UK <http://www.bl.uk/reshelp/bldept/manuscr/>
Availability: The original letter is extant and usually available for academic research purposes

Print Versions

  • The Works of Thomas Gray, 2 vols. Ed. by John Mitford. London: J. Mawman, 1816, section V, letter V, vol. ii, 518 - view pages
  • The Works of Thomas Gray, 5 vols. Ed. by John Mitford. London: W. Pickering, 1835-1843, section V, letter VI, vol. iv, 139-142 - view pages
  • The Letters of Thomas Gray, including the correspondence of Gray and Mason, 3 vols. Ed. by Duncan C. Tovey. London: George Bell and Sons, 1900-12, letter no. CCCXLIX, vol. iii, 230 - view pages
  • Correspondence of Thomas Gray, 3 vols. Ed. by the late Paget Toynbee and Leonard Whibley, with corrections and additions by H. W. Starr. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971 [1st ed. 1935], letter no. 502, vol. iii, 1072-1073 - view pages