Skip main navigation

Thomas Gray to Thomas Wharton, [26 March 1747]

Back to Letters page

Dr Thomas Wharton, of

My Dear Wharton

I perceive, that mine did not reach you, till the Day after you had wrote your little Letter. if you have time to give the Gentleman (before he goes to Town) my Note indorsed by You, or will send it to your Brother, the Money shall be paid in Town at the Day you mention. the rest of my Questions are all sufficiently answer'd by the News you tell me (not but that I knew it before) what can one say to a Person in such Circumstances? I need not say, how much Happiness I wish you: if that be the Way to it, I rejoice to see you with your Boots on. it would be cruel to detain you long at present; when you have any Leisure, I hope you will let me a little more into the Matter. the Old Maids give you heartily Joy, & hug themselves in their Virginity. Carlyon is in your Room, & I can't well go, & strip him: I reckon he will not remain long here. Adieu, & think me

Yours ever
Letter ID: letters.0154 (Source: TEI/XML)


Writer: Gray, Thomas, 1716-1771
Writer's age: 30
Addressee: Wharton, Thomas, 1717-1794
Addressee's age: 30[?]


Date of composition: [26 March 1747]
Date (on letter): March 26
Calendar: Julian


Place of composition: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Address (on letter): Cambr:ge
Place of addressee: Durham, United Kingdom

Physical description

Form/Extent: A.L.S.; 1 page, 202 mm x 160 mm
Addressed: To / Dr Thomas Wharton, of / Durham (postmark: CAMBRIDGE)


Language: English
Incipit: I perceive, that mine did not reach you, till the Day after you had...

Holding Institution

Egerton MS 2400, ff. 21-22, Manuscripts collection, British Library , London, UK <>
Availability: The original letter is extant and usually available for academic research purposes

Print Versions

  • The Works of Thomas Gray, 5 vols. Ed. by John Mitford. London: W. Pickering, 1835-1843, section IV, letter XX, vol. iii, 45
  • The Letters of Thomas Gray, including the correspondence of Gray and Mason, 3 vols. Ed. by Duncan C. Tovey. London: George Bell and Sons, 1900-12, letter no. LXXVIII, vol. i, 168
  • Correspondence of Thomas Gray, 3 vols. Ed. by the late Paget Toynbee and Leonard Whibley, with corrections and additions by H. W. Starr. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971 [1st ed. 1935], letter no. 136, vol. i, 279-280