Skip main navigation

Thomas Gray to Thomas Wharton, 4 June 1762

Back to Letters page

Dear Doctor

I have no other apprehension, if I should come into the North, than that of somehow incommoding you & your family; & yet I believe my strong inclination to see you & your Carthage will prevail over so reasonable an apprehension. as to all the inconveniences, that regard myself, & wch you are so kindly providing against, I set them at nought. however you shall know of my motions before I stir.

You are not to take this for a letter: it is a message, that I am forced to send. there is a Mr. Tho: Hornsby, an Apothecary at Durham, who makes a sort of Lozenges said to be good in a gouty cough, & indigestions. a relation of mine, a poor girl, who is exceedingly ill, having had some of these from the Abdy-family (whose stock is nearly exhausted) fancies they do her great service. I therefore must beg you would send to Mr Hornsby, & let him put up a quarter of a pound in as little compass as he can, & send it to the Post-Master (directed to Mrs Antrobus, Post-Mistress at Cambridge) & let him put it in the mail. the sooner this can be done the better, & you will oblige me & the Patient.

I am sorry, you are forced to complain of this untoward suffocating season: but who has escaped without illness? for me I have felt neither cold nor fever: but I have had two slight attacks of the Gout after near three years intermission: it is well, if I escape so.

Adieu, Dear Doctr. my best services to Mrs Wharton. I am ever truly yours

I am just return'd hither from London, where I have been these two months.

Letter ID: letters.0411 (Source: TEI/XML)


Writer: Gray, Thomas, 1716-1771
Writer's age: 45
Addressee: Wharton, Thomas, 1717-1794
Addressee's age: 45[?]


Date of composition: 4 June 1762
Date (on letter): June 4. 1762
Calendar: Gregorian


Place of composition: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Address (on letter): Pemb: Hall

Physical description

Form/Extent: A.L.S.; 2 pages, 226 mm x 187 mm


Language: English
Incipit: I have no other apprehension, if I should come into the North,...
Mentioned: Antrobus, Mrs. (Elizabeth), 1709-1773

Holding Institution

Egerton MS 2400, f. 153, Manuscripts collection, British Library , London, UK <>
Availability: The original letter is extant and usually available for academic research purposes

Print Versions

  • The Works of Thomas Gray, 5 vols. Ed. by John Mitford. London: W. Pickering, 1835-1843, section IV, letter CXII, vol. iii, 295-296
  • The Letters of Thomas Gray, including the correspondence of Gray and Mason, 3 vols. Ed. by Duncan C. Tovey. London: George Bell and Sons, 1900-12, letter no. CCXLI, vol. ii, 259-260
  • Correspondence of Thomas Gray, 3 vols. Ed. by the late Paget Toynbee and Leonard Whibley, with corrections and additions by H. W. Starr. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971 [1st ed. 1935], letter no. 358, vol. ii, 779-780