Skip main navigation

Thomas Gray to Thomas Wharton, 10 July 1762

Back to Letters page

Dr Wharton M:D: at
Old-Park near

Dear Doctor

I have pass'd a week here with Mr Precentor, & assisted at all his functions in the Minster with the greatest regularity. he is at present gone to meet Ld & Lady Holdernesse at Aston, but returns (I believe) on Wednesday: after wch (on Saturday or Sunday probably) I hope to see you at Old-Park, if you have no objection. otherwise you will direct to me at Mason's.

Adieu, I am ever
Letter ID: letters.0413 (Source: TEI/XML)


Writer: Gray, Thomas, 1716-1771
Writer's age: 45
Addressee: Wharton, Thomas, 1717-1794
Addressee's age: 45[?]


Date of composition: 10 July 1762
Date (on letter): July 10. 1762
Calendar: Gregorian


Place of composition: York, United Kingdom
Address (on letter): York
Place of addressee: Durham, United Kingdom

Physical description

Form/Extent: A.L.S.; 1 page, 205 mm x 160 mm
Addressed: To / Dr Wharton M:D: at / Old-Park near / Durham (postmark: YORK)


Language: English
Incipit: I have pass'd a week here with Mr Precentor, & assisted at all his...
Mentioned: Aston
Mason, William, 1724-1797
Old Park
York Minster

Holding Institution

Egerton MS 2400, ff. 154-155, Manuscripts collection, British Library , London, UK <>
Availability: The original letter is extant and usually available for academic research purposes

Print Versions

  • The Works of Thomas Gray, 5 vols. Ed. by John Mitford. London: W. Pickering, 1835-1843, section IV, letter CXIII, vol. iii, 297
  • The Letters of Thomas Gray, including the correspondence of Gray and Mason, 3 vols. Ed. by Duncan C. Tovey. London: George Bell and Sons, 1900-12, letter no. CCXLIII, vol. ii, 261-262
  • Correspondence of Thomas Gray, 3 vols. Ed. by the late Paget Toynbee and Leonard Whibley, with corrections and additions by H. W. Starr. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971 [1st ed. 1935], letter no. 360, vol. ii, 781